This is the "Special Populations: Older Adults" page of the "Human Performance & Leisure Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Performance & Leisure Studies  

Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/hpls Print Guide RSS Updates

Special Populations: Older Adults Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases on Older Populations

Searching for issues on older populations can involve many different issues. Older populations are studied in specialty fields like geriatrics (medicine) and gerontology (social, psychological, and biological issues of older adults). But aging issues can also come up in a wide variety of general studies from sociology, psychology, health, family studies, and other disciplines. That means there are many databases to try:

  • CINAHL plus
    A huge allied health database. Go here when MEDLINE is too doctor-oriented for what you want.
  • MEDLINE
    MEDLINE is the major medical database, including both geriatrics and sports medicine as well as all other medical disciplines.
  • PsycArticles
    PsycArticles is great when you want research articles on psychology and behavior.
  • SOCIndex with full text
    Huge database of sociology research including gerontology, life-span studies, and social issues of age.
  • SPORTDiscus
    Coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
 

Circulating Books

Circulating books are located in different sections of the library. Please consult the directory by the elevator or ask for assistance.

Cover Art
Active Living, Cognitive Functioning, and Aging - Edited by Leonard W. Poon, Wojtek Chodzko-Zajko, and Phillip D. Tomporowski
Call Number: A&T Stacks QP86 .A26 2006

Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription - Vivian H. Heyward
Call Number: A&T Stacks GV436 .H48 2002

Cover Art
Client-centered Exercise Prescription - John C. Griffin
Call Number: A&T Stacks RM725 .G75 2006

Fitness Over Fifty: An Exercise Guide from the National Institute on Aging - National Institute on Aging
Call Number: A&T Stacks GV482.6 .F48 2003

Cover Art
Healthy Aging: Challenges and Solutions - Edited by Ken Dychtwald
Call Number: A&T Stacks RA777.6 .H45 1999

Healthy aging brain: sustaining attachment, attaining wisdom / - Louis Cozolino
Call Number: A&T Stacks QP356.25 .C69 2008

Cover Art
Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation for Active Older Adults - Edited by Kevin P. Speer
Call Number: A&T Stacks RC1218.A33 I55 2005

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip