Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014
This selective guide contains a bibliography of electronic resources to assist library patrons with research using statistical information.
- Agricultural Statistics
National Agricultural Statistics Service publishes U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series; providing the most up-to-date statistics including all revisions.
- Census 2000 Results
The United States Census Database, 2000 includes population information from the year 2000 census for the United States and Puerto Rico. The information is presented by county and includes statistics on total population; population under age 18; population by age, gender, race, and ethnic group; and change in population between 1990 and 2000.
- Crime in North Carolina
The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation
- Encyclopedia of ED Stats (Educational Statistics)
IES brings rigorous and relevant research, evaluation and statistics to our nation's education system.
- Global Development Finance (GDF)
The World Bank’s GDF database contains more than 200 debt and financial flow indicators for over 136 countries that reports public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System.
- International Financial Statistics
The IMF publishes the International Financial Statistics (IFS) database a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe
Contains searchable tables and abstracts from federal, private, and selected international sources. Includes important standard statistical resources (i.e., American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI) and Index to International Statistics (IIS)
- National Center for health Statistics
This database is a rich source of information about America’s health.
- NC Public Schools Statistical Profile via NCLive
A collection of statistical information about North Carolina's elementary and secondary schools. The profile provides general statistical data on public school pupils, personnel, and finances.
- NC State Center for Health Statistics via NCLive
SCHS is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics
- North Carolina Agricultural Statistical Services via NCLive
Provides and disseminates statistics about North Carolina agriculture.
- North Carolina State Data Service via NCLive
The North Carolina State Data Center (SDC) is a consortium of state and local agencies established in cooperation with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about North Carolina and its component geographic areas.
- North Carolina State Demographics via NCLive
The State Demographics unit is primarily responsible for producing population estimates and projections.
- Social Explorer
Provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts
Cite books, journal articles and reports that can contain statistics.
- Source Book of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
Data tables on criminal justice topics from over 100 sources are presented at this indexed and fully searchable site.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Provide tables and charts covering various aspects of social, political, and economic life. Emphasis is on the United States, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics.
- World Bank e-Library
The e-Library is a database collection of over 3,000 World Bank documents updated daily. It consists of over 1,400 World Bank publications and over 2,000 Policy Research Working Papers
- World Development Indicators Online (World Bank Group)
This resource is a compilation of statistics on a broad range of subjects with coverage from 1960-. It combines a simple interface with some sophisticated tools for representing the statistics one selects.