Books with TestsJournals with Test Articles
This is the "Reference & Guide Materials" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/content.php?pid=58215 Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference & Guide Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is on this page?

  • Dictionaries
  • Encyclopedias
  • Research methods
 

Why use reference books?

Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?

Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in deciding which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.

Resources for Social Science Authors

 

Dictionaries

Cover Art
The Social Work Dictionary
Call Number: HV12 .B37 2003 READY REF
ISBN: 087101355X

 

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: HV35 .S6 2008 READY REF
ISBN: 0071-0237

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Homelessness - David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: HV4493 .E53 2004 REF
ISBN: 0761927514
Publication Date: 2004
This set covers the origins of homelessness, current research, and strategies for its prevention. Articles address homelessness in eight major American cities and more than 30 cities and nations around the world.



 

Guides - Resarch Methods

Cover Art
Writing up Qualitative Research - Harry F. Wolcott
Call Number: T11 .W65 2009 STACKS
ISBN: 9781412970112
Publication Date: 2008-11-19

Cover Art
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation - Linda Dale Bloomberg (Editor); Marie Volpe (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .B58555 2008 STACKS
ISBN: 9781412956512
Publication Date: 2008-01-24

Cover Art
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation - Linda Dale Bloomberg (Editor); Marie Volpe (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .P651 2005 STACKS
ISBN: 9781412956512
Publication Date: 2008-01-24

Cover Art
Developments in Human Observation Methodologies - Nick Lee; Amanda J. Broderick
ISBN: 9781846634178
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
E-brary electronic book

Cover Art
Qualitative Research in Social Work - N., IGould Shaw; Ian Graham Shaw (Editor); Nick Gould (Editor)
Call Number: E-brary 2001
ISBN: 9781280369766
Publication Date: 2001-01-01

Cover Art
Qualitative Research Proposals and Reports - Patricia L. Munhall; Ron J. Chenail
Call Number: RT81.5 .M854 2008 STACKS
ISBN: 9780763751111
Publication Date: 2007-10-25

Cover Art
Research Methods for Social Workers - Bonnie L. Yegidis; Robert W. Weinbach
Call Number: HV11 .Y43 2006 STACKS
ISBN: 9780205157662
Publication Date: 1995-07-01

Cover Art
Research Methods for Generalist Social Work - Christine R. Marlow
Call Number: HV11 .M3493 2005 STACKS
ISBN: 9780534541590
Publication Date: 2004-06-10


Cover Art
Research for Effective Social Work Practice - Judy Krysik; Jerry Finn
ISBN: 9780203859704
Publication Date: 2010-02-24

Subject Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
E. Francene Moore
Contact Info
F.D. Bluford Library
efmoore@ncat.edu
336.285.4184
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip