This is the "Search for Articles by Topic" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Science  

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/polisci Print Guide RSS Updates

Search for Articles by Topic Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

  • Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
  • Click Browse Databases by Title
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your A&T email username and password.

 

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

  1. The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words.
  2. More search terms = fewer results.
  3. Fewer terms = more results.
  4. Connect words with AND instead of putting in complete sentences. Computers do not understand grammar.

Political Science Specialty Databases

  • CQ Electronic Library
    Provides 7 sub-files containing high quality research information in the areas of American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. The "Congress" and "Voting and Elections" collections are of special interest to polisci majors
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    A collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organization management from a variety of sources including federal, state, and local government agencies. Note: Currently restricted to on-campus use only
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is an archiving database that archives the full text of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including political science and public administration studies. JSTOR articles are usually historical not current.
  • Political Risk Yearbook (Business Source Complete)
    An annual publication from the Political Risk Service, it provides indicators and rankings on the country climate for politics, economics, security, law and social factors.
  • ProQuest Political Science
    This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
  • Proquest Research Library
    ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

Multidisciplinary Databases that are Useful for Political Science

  • ABI/Inform Global
    Provides abstracts and indexing for over 1,700 scholarly journals focusing on business but covering a wide variety of other social science subject areas from 1971 to present.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides abstracts and indexing for over 8,200 scholarly journals covering every subject area. Includes many complete articles from over 4,600 journals.
  • Access World News
    Full-text content of local and regional newspapers. Each newspaper has its own distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.
  • CQ Electronic Library
    Provides seven subfiles containing high quality research information in the areas of American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
  • ebooks from EBSCOhost
    Provides access to over 30,000 electronic books, including the areas of Political Science and many related political issues
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Indexes major minority newspapers throughout the country from 1960-present
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    A collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organization management from a variety of sources including federal, state, and local government agencies. Note: Currently restricted to on-campus use only.
  • Issues Researcher
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is an archiving database that archives the full text of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including political science and public administration studies. JSTOR articles are usually historical not current.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. It couples the convenience of the Internet with the power of LEXIS-NEXIS® services so you can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific research need
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on current events and social and political issues
  • Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
    A multidisciplinary collection of over 130 dictionaries and other reference titles including books like the Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, and the Oxford Guide to the United States Government.
  • Project Muse
    Provides access to the full text of over 160 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics
  • Science Direct
    This full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide of subject areas and disciplines
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the ISI citation databases – multidisciplinary, high quality research information from the world’s leading professional science, social sciences, and arts and humanities journals
  • WorldCat  
      
    Use WorldCat to determine if another library owns desired research materials.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip