This is the "Research Databases" page of the "Transportation/ Engineering - Summer High School Transportation Institute (STI)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Transportation/ Engineering - Summer High School Transportation Institute (STI)   Tags: engineering, high_school, sti, transportation  

This guide will assist you in TRANSPORTATION research using the library's online catalog, eBook Collection, research databases and appropriate websites.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/transportation Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Research Databases, Providers and Vendors

  • ABI/INFORM Complete
    The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Includes Transportation and Supply Chain Management research.
  • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library
    Database providing full-text journals published by The American Society of Civil Engineers [ASCE]; also includes bibliographic citations to ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings.
  • Dictionary of Occupational Titles.
  • Emerald Insight Journals
    Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management and operations research, supply chain management, information science, and engineering including titles such as Management Decision, European Journal of Marketing, Journal of Documentation, Leadership & Organization Development Journal, Supply Chain Management, The TQM Magazine, and Industrial Robot.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library  
      
    The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
  • Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts
    This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles. The database currently includes over 6.2 million records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. It covers all mechanical engineering and transportation engineering aspects from aerospace to automotive. Part of Engineering Research Database and Technology Research Database.
  • National Transportation Library
    Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
  • NC Live
    NC LIVE provides North Carolina residents and students with access to high quality information - searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books, historical materials, maps, and much more - covering a wide range of topics. This portal allows you to search multiple NC Live databases at once.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook.
    Excellent source for career information; includes education and training, earnings and employment prospects, responsibilities and working conditions.
  • SAE Digital Library
    Standards and technical papers in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
  • Science Direct
    Full-text collection of peer-reviewed journals covering science, technology, engineering, and medicine for subscribed journals form 1994 to the present. Includes a very good selection of journals for Transportation and Supply Chain. Also includes bibliographic citations to journals and ebooks NOT subscribed to. (from the publisher Elsevier)
  • Springer LINK
    Access to journals and ebooks from Springer/Verlag and Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, transportation, and economics.
  • TRID: the TRIS and ITRD Database (combined)
    TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide (some full-text).
  • USPTO Web Patent Databases
    Two part database comprising published patents applications since March 15, 2001 and issued patents with full images since 1790 and full-text since 1976.
  • Wiley Online Library
    A resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Features content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than half of Wiley's journals on Wiley InterScience are digitized back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Or

  • Click on the letter that is the first letter of the name of your Database
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database
  • Finally, Click on the name of your Database.

Please note: For off-campus access, please sign in by using your username, and your password.

Your username is the one you use for Blackboard or Wi-Fi For example, if your email address is agoodstudent@aggies.ncat.edu: 

  • username: agoodstudent 
  • password: xxxxxxxx
  • (same password as for Blackboard or Wi-Fi)
 

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

  1. The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words (Synonyms).
  2. Fewer terms = more results.
  3. More search terms = fewer results. 
  4. Some Databases search two-word phrases always together, some do not.  You may need to add "quotes" around your phrases.
  5. Connect words/phrases with AND instead of putting in complete sentences.
  6. Computers are dumb - they do not understand grammar.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases include articles from every discipline. From art to zoology, teaching to technology, you can find a little bit on any topic by using these research tools.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Our most popular multidisciplinary journal database! Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Academic Search Complete offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics
  • Access World News Research Collection
    Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, controversial issues, criminal justice, economics, health, education, the environment, government, journalism, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, periodicals and web-only content including the Charlotte Observer (1985-Current) and Greensboro News & Record (1990-Current). Also includes Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
  • Biography Reference Center
    Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
  • Dissertations & Theses Global
    This database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
    Since 2012, this database includes over 400 North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University Masters Theses and Ph.D. Dissertations.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand is an online collection of educational videos available for streaming. Subjects include anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business & economics, careers & job search, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, English & language arts, environmental science, family & consumer sciences, geography, guidance & counseling, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technical education, and world languages.
  • Google Scholar
    This link will allow off campus users to access full text of articles through Google Scholar.
  • JSTOR
    Historical and backfile articles from scholarly journals going back to the start of each journal. Although JSTOR does not include contemporary articles, it is a vast colelction of the best older articles in many disciplines.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    This flagship service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (from GALE)
    Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.
  • ProQuest Central
    ProQuest Central provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals. It also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as over 70,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more; over 90,000 working papers from providers such as SSRN; and thousands of up-to-date market and industry reports, and country profiles.
  • SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, data sets, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
  • ScienceDirect
    Contrary to the name, Science Direct covers science, social sciences, and humanities, with many of the best-known scholarly journals in numerous disciplines.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
  • Web of Science
    Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • WorldCat
    Search for books held in libraries throughout North Carolina and theworld. This database is useful for locating items in other libraries or for verifying book titles and publication information for citations.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip