This guide covers multidisciplinary aspects of leadership studies in all areas. It is geared particularly for students in the Leadership Studies doctoral program.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2016
Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.
To find these databases from the Library Home Page:
- Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
- Click Browse Databases by Title
- Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.
Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.
Because the field of Leadership Studies covers so many different sub-topics it is difficult to find everything needed in a single place. There is no "one stop shop" for searching comprehensively in the scholarly literature on leadership. Consider databases in education, management, political science, psychology, and sociology as good starting places.
- ABI/Inform Global
ABI/Inform Global is a collection of the major publications in business, management, marketing, accounting, and all aspects of organizational behavior.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database is a good starting point for collecting a few scholarly articles on almost any topic.
- Business Source Complete
Collects major business publications in all business disciplines and organizational sciences.
- EBSCO databases
Choose databases on many different topics through the EBSCO interface. Click as many as you want. For leadership, consider
- Academic Search
- Business Source
- plus add ERIC if you're researching educational leaders.
- Emerald Full-Text
Includes international journals in a variety of management and industrial organization subdisciplines.
- ERIC (via EBSCOhost)
The Educational Resources Information Center, or ERIC, is the foremost source for research on all aspects of education includeing school management, principleship, and other educational leadership issues.
JSTOR gives you access to journal articles from many different disciplines includeing business, education, and psychology topics. Unlike other databases, JSTOR articles are always from older journals. This is useful for researching the history of a topic.
- Project Muse
An excellent database of journals focusing on the humanities and some social sciences. This is a good place for academic and religious leadership researchers.
Full-text psychology and behavioral sciences journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other organizations.
As the most complete database of abstracts in psychology, PsycINFO is the comprehensive source to identify articles in the behavioral sciences.
- Web of Science
Covering social sciences and humanities not just science and technology, this database lets you search by cited references as well as normal topic searching.