This is the "Databases and Online Articles" page of the "Reading Across the Curriculum" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reading Across the Curriculum  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/Reading Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and Online Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

  • Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
  • Click Browse Databases by Title
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.

Article Databases for Education

Use these databases to find articles in education and other journals, trade magazines, newsletters, and more.

  • EBSCO Databases
    The EBSCOhost platform brings us numerous databases in several different topic areas. For education topics we recommend checking on Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, ERIC< and the Teacher Resource Center.
  • Education Full Text collection
    This is a small collection of scholarly journals in education. Although searches usually turn up fewer results, they are all guaranteed to be high-quality, full-text research articles.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a comprehensive database that includes many education journals. The Specialty of this database is historical articles; it does not include recent articles at all.
  • ERIC
    ERIC is part of the EBSCOhost suite, but can also be searched alone with this link. ERIC is the premier education database, which every teacher should know. There is also a free version maintained by the US Dept of Education, so you'll always have access.

Other Education Databases

These databases provide materials other than articles that might be useful for research in reading and education.

  • ebrary
    This e-book database includes books to read on your computer. It includes a wide variety of topics in and outside of education.
  • netLibrary
    This e-book database lets you read books on a wide variety of topics, online. It also includes MP3 audiobooks.
  • NoveList
    A readers advisory resource made for finding good books, this database includes reading lists on all topics, discussion prompts for book talks, reading difficulty ratings for books, and a wealth of other information on fiction.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip