Archives/Special Collections [including Theses]Print and Electronic BooksRS Means
Government Documents Database
This is the "Featured Databases" page of the "Civil Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Engineering   Tags: civil engineering, engineering, research, transportation  

This guide will assist you in CIVIL ENGINEERING research using the library's online catalog, eBook Collection, research databases and appropriate websites.
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/civilengineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Featured Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Databases for Civil Engineering

  • ASCE Publications Civil Engineering Database  
      
    Providing full-text journals published by The American Society of Civil Engineers [ASCE], this database also includes bibliographic citations to books and conference proceedings.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
  • Civil Engineering Abstracts
    This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. The database currently includes over 1M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics. Part of Engineering Research Database and Technology Research Database
  • Engineering Research Database
    This resource was formerly called CSA Engineering Research Database. Bibliographic coverage of the international serial and non-serial literature for research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, transportation engineering, forensic engineering, engineering services, education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, mathematics/computation, design, construction, and latest technological developments. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Engineering supplements the database with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. Part of Technology Research Database.
  • Engineering Village  
      
    Combined database searching of Compendex (engineering), Inspec (physics) and NTIS (technical reports), including deduplication of Compendex and Inspec records.
  • ENGnetBASE
    This collection includes over 1335 reference books in agricultural and all other engineering, published by the CRC Press and/or Taylor & Francis.
  • Environment Complete
    Environment Complete contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles). The database contains full text for more than 920 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for more than 190 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc. Topics covered include applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
    This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production. Part of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database. Engineering Research Database, and Technology Research Database..
  • GeoScienceWorld
    GeoScienceWorld provides online access to 30 geoscience journals from several societies including GSA, AAPG, Geological Society of London, the Paleontological Society and the Mineralogical Society.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    Search topics such as "Agroterrorism". Includes "Climate Change" under "Featured Topics" link.
  • Knovel Library
    Electronic book titles in the fields of science and engineering. Subjects covered include: Biology, Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Civil Engineering & Construction Materials; Earth Sciences; Environment & Environmental Engineering; Food Science; General Engineering & Engineering Management; Oil & Gas Engineering; Safety & Industrial Hygiene Collection; Sustainable Energy & Developments.
  • ProQuest Military
    This database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 370 available in full-text, allowing you to search over 3.5M records, dating back to the early 1990's.
  • National Technical Information Service Database
    Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
  • National Transportation Library
    Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
  • SAI Global Standards Infobase (formerly ILI Infobase)  
      
    Indexing and Abstracting source for US and worldwide engineering standards & specifications.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    Contains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, and agricultural science.
    Patrons are required to register for an account with a valid North Carolina A&T email address using the following link: http://ncat.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=B90AF57C-86F3-50AB-13F4-26BE86E963C1
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts
    This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Part of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database.
  • Technology Research Database
    This database is the total technology research solution, indexing world literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering. It incorporates Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace and all of their subfiles.
  • Transportation Research Record
    Great journal for Civil Engineering research
  • TRID: the TRIS and ITRD Database (combined)
    TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide (some full-text).
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. Part of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database.
 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Or

  • Click on the letter that is the first letter of the name of your Database
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database
  • Finally, Click on the name of your Database.

Please note: For off-campus access, please sign in by using your username, and your password.

Your username is the one you use for Blackboard or Wi-Fi For example, if your email address is agoodstudent@aggies.ncat.edu: 

  • username: agoodstudent 
  • password: xxxxxxxx
  • (same password as for Blackboard or Wi-Fi)
 

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

  1. The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words (Synonyms).
  2. Fewer terms = more results.
  3. More search terms = fewer results. 
  4. Some Databases search two-word phrases always together, some do not.  You may need to add "quotes" around your phrases.
  5. Connect words/phrases with AND instead of putting in complete sentences.
  6. Computers are dumb - they do not understand grammar.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases include articles from every discipline. From art to zoology, teaching to technology, you can find a little bit on any topic by using these research tools.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Our most popular multidisciplinary journal database! Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Academic Search Complete offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics
  • Access World News Research Collection
    Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, controversial issues, criminal justice, economics, health, education, the environment, government, journalism, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, periodicals and web-only content including the Charlotte Observer (1985-Current) and Greensboro News & Record (1990-Current). Also includes Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
  • Biography Reference Center
    Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
  • Dissertations & Theses Global
    This database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
    Since 2012, this database includes over 400 North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University Masters Theses and Ph.D. Dissertations.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand is an online collection of educational videos available for streaming. Subjects include anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business & economics, careers & job search, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, English & language arts, environmental science, family & consumer sciences, geography, guidance & counseling, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technical education, and world languages.
  • Google Scholar
    This link will allow off campus users to access full text of articles through Google Scholar.
  • JSTOR
    Historical and backfile articles from scholarly journals going back to the start of each journal. Although JSTOR does not include contemporary articles, it is a vast colelction of the best older articles in many disciplines.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    This flagship service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (from GALE)
    Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.
  • ProQuest Central
    ProQuest Central provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals. It also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as over 70,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more; over 90,000 working papers from providers such as SSRN; and thousands of up-to-date market and industry reports, and country profiles.
  • SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, data sets, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
  • ScienceDirect
    Contrary to the name, Science Direct covers science, social sciences, and humanities, with many of the best-known scholarly journals in numerous disciplines.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
  • Web of Science
    Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • WorldCat
    Search for books held in libraries throughout North Carolina and theworld. This database is useful for locating items in other libraries or for verifying book titles and publication information for citations.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip