This is the "Countries and Cultures" page of the "Cultures of the African Diaspora" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cultures of the African Diaspora  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/diaspora Print Guide RSS Updates

Countries and Cultures Print Page
  Search: 
 

Country Databases

  • Global NewsBank
    Read newspaper articles from newspapers published in countries around the world to get the local perspective on foreign and international events.

Culture Databases

  • Humanities eBooks
    Includes books online from humanities topics including history and cultural studies. Some social sciences material such as cultural studies and anthropology is included.

Full Text Social Science Databases

These databases in sociology and other social sciences include the full text of some articles. Watch for check-boxes to indicate the types of limits you want to put on your search, like "full text only" (returns only results with whole articles) or "Peer Reviewed" (returns only scholarly journals).

  • SocINDEX with full text
    SocIndex is an easy-to-use database from EBSCOhost, that includes a variety of sociology, social psychology, counseling, and other social sciences journals in full text.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
 

Books on Countries & Cultures

These books are good starting places for information on cultures and countries. See the "Books" tab for information on how to locate books in the library.

Countries and their Cultures
Call Number: A&T REF GN307 .C68 2001 v.1-4

Culture and customs of Ghana
Call Number: A&T REF DT510.4 .S25 2002

Culture and Customs of Nigeria
Call Number: A&T REF DT515.4 .F35 2001

Culture and Customs of Somalia
Call Number: A&T REF GN650.S65 A34 2001

Culture and Customs of the Congo
Call Number: A&T REF DT649 .M85 2002

Culture and Customs of Zimbabwe
Call Number: A&T REF DT2908 .O96 2002

Doing cultural anthropology : projects for ethnographic data collection
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN346 .D65 2002

Doing fieldwork : ethnographic methods for research in developing countries and beyond
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN346 .F537 2005

Encyclopedia of food and culture
Call Number: A&T REF GT2850 .E53 2003 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of rap and hip-hop culture
Call Number: A&T REF ML102.R27 B96 2006

Europa World Year Book
Call Number: A&T READY REF JN1 .E85

Exotics at home : anthropologies, others, American modernity
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN33 .D5 2000

Fashion, Costume, and Culture : clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear through the ages
Call Number: A&T REF GT511 .P46 2004b v.1-5

Girl culture : an encyclopedia
Call Number: A&T REF HQ798 .G523 2008 v.1-2

Greenwood Guide to American popular culture
Call Number: A&T REF E169.1 .H2643 2002 v.1-4

Handbook of ethnography
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN345 .H365 2001

Men and masculinities : a social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia
Call Number: A&T REF HQ1090.3 .M436 2004 v.1-2

Naturalistic observation
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN345 .A56 2007

Oxford handbook of global religions
Call Number: A&T REF BL74 .O94 2006

Quick Ethnography
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN345 .H39 2001

Race, place and globalization : youth cultures in a changing world
Call Number: A&T STACKS HQ796 .N3677 2003

Sage dictionary of cultural studies
Call Number: A&T REF HM623 .B374 2004

Sports culture : an A-Z guide
Call Number: A&T REF GV706.5 .C383 2000

The ethnographic imagination
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN345 .W52 2000

Writing the New Ethnography
Call Number: A&T STACKS GN307.7 .G66 2000

World musics in context : a comprehensive survey of the world's major musical cultures
Call Number: A&T STACKS ML160 .F64 2004

Understanding The Cultural Landscape
Call Number: A&T STACKS GF41 .W354 2005

Handbook of World Families
Call Number: A&T STACKS HQ515 .H3356 2005

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip