This is the "Databases: Find Articles by Topic" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/socialwork Print Guide

Databases: Find Articles by Topic Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Instructions

Below you will find lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases by name:

  • Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
  • Click Browse Databases by Title
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed below.

Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.

Social Work Databases

These databases are specialized databases in the areas of social work and social services. Please be aware that they are abstract-only databases. That means that they will take you to summaries of articles, not full articles. You can then use the "LinkSource" link, try the eJournals tab of the library home page, or search the library Catalog to see if the full text for that journal is available.

  • Social Services Abstracts
    CSA Social Services Abstracts provides abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Social Work Abstracts
    The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, contains more than 45,000 abstracts from 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals.

Full Text Social Science Databases

These databases in sociology and other social sciences include the full text of some articles. Watch for check-boxes to indicate the types of limits you want to put on your search, like "full text only" (returns only results with whole articles) or "Peer Reviewed" (returns only scholarly journals).

  • Social Sciences Full-Text
    The Social Sciences FullText database includes journals, magazines, and newsletters in a variety of social sciences disciplines, including sociology.
  • SocINDEX with full text
    SocIndex is an easy-to-use database from EBSCOhost, that includes a variety of sociology, social psychology, counseling, and other social sciences journals in full text.
  • Sociology: Full-Text Collection
    This is a small collection of full-text journals, but it includes some of the best research journals in sociology.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip