This is the "Books" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/socialwork Print Guide

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Headings

One way to find materials on social work is to search the library's Catalog, available at http://www.library.ncat.edu/. Searching the Catalog by keyword lets you search "like you would online". Searching by Subject is more focused, but you have to use specific terms called Subject Headings. Here are some possible Subject Headings for searching Social Work topics by Subject. Notice that just plain "Social Work" is not a valid Subject Heading!

Communication in Social Work

Psychiatric Social Work

Public Welfare

Social Case Work

Social Group Work

Social Service

Social Service Research

Social Work Administration

Social Work Education

Social Work with...

Social Work With African Americans

Social Work With Children

Social Work With Drug Addicts

Social Work With Men

Social Work With Minorities

Social Work With Older People

Social Work With People With Disabilities

Social Work With Women

Social Work With Youth

Therapeutics

Use these as starting places for your Catalog search to find books in the library on your area of interest. Or consult the list of books below for specific Call Numbers to look for. Start with a book to get an overview of the big picture surrounding your research topic. Then focus on specific aspects of your topic by looking for articles in the databases (listed on the left).

 

Finding Library Books

http://www.library.ncat.edu

Use the Location and Call Number together to find your book. The Location (usually on the left of the screen) will help you figure out what floor to start on. The Call Number (usually in the center of the screen) is how the books are organized on the shelf.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting A - L are on the 2nd floor.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting M - Z are on the 3rd floor.

A&T BLK STUDIES books are on the 3rd floor in the front.

A&T LRC books are in the Learning Resources Center on the Lower Level.

Some books "do not circulate" or cannot be checked out of the building.

A&T RESERVE books can be gotten at the first floor Circulation desk.

A&T READY REF books can be gotten at the first floor Reference desk.

A&T REF books are just past the Reference desk, on the first floor.

 

Reference Books: Social Work Topics

Reference books can be used to look up quick facts and brief articles, and are usually a good place to start when you are researching an unfamiliar topic. These books cannot be checked out. Look for A&T READY REF items at the Reference desk, and A&T REF items on the first floor Reference bookshelves just past the Reference desk.


Comprehensive handbook of social work and social welfare - Karen M. Sowers and Catherine N. Dulmus, eds.
Call Number: A&T REF HV40 .C635 2008 v.1-4

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology : a nontechnical guide for the social sciences - W. Paul Vogt
Call Number: A&T REF HA17 .V64 2005

Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000 - Peter N. Stearns, ed.
Call Number: A&T REF HN373 .E63 2001 v. 1-6

Encyclopedia of Homelessness - David Levinson, ed.
Call Number: A&T REF HV4493 .E53 2004 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement - Kimberly Kempf-Leonard, ed.
Call Number: A&T REF H62 .E584 2005 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America - John M. Herrick and Paul H. Stuart, eds.
Call Number: A&T REF HV12 .E497 2005

Handbook of Clinical Psychology - Michel Hersen & Alan M. Gross, eds.
Call Number: A&T REF RC467.2 .H357 2008 v.1-2

Handbook of Empirical Social Work Practice - Bruce A. Thyer and John S. Wodarski, eds.
Call Number: A&T REF HV43 .H316 1998 v.1-2

School Services Sourcebook: a guide for school-based professionals - Cynthia Franklin, Mary Beth Harris, and Paula Allen-Meares, eds.
Call Number: A&T REF LB3013.4 .S372 2006

Social Work Dictionary - Robert L. Barker
Call Number: A&T READY REF HV12 .B37 2003

Writing Empirical Research Reports : a basic guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences - Fred Pyrczak & Randall R. Bruce
Call Number: A&T REF LB2369 .P97 2005

 

Circulating Books: Social Work Topics

Below is a select list of books that you can check out (or "Circulating" books) on social work topics. They can be found on the second and third floors of the library. Use the Location of the book along with the Call Number to find it.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting A - L are on the 2nd floor.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting M - Z are on the 3rd floor.

A&T BLK STUDIES books are on the 3rd floor in the front.


African-American Social Workers and Social Policy - Tricia B. Bent-Goodley, ed.
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV3181 .A374 2003

Christianity and Social Work : readings on the integration of Christian faith and social work practice - Beryl Hugen and T. Lane Scales, eds.
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV530 .C45 2002

Confronting the Veil : Abram Harris, Jr., E. Franklin Frazier, and Ralph Bunche, 1919-1941 - Jonathan Scott Holloway
Call Number: A&T BLK STUDIES E185.96 .H58 2002

Faithful Angels : portraits of international social work notables - James O. Billups, ed.
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV27 .F35 2002

Formation of the National Association of Black Social Workers: a documented history - Garland L. Jaggers
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV3181 .J34 2003

Foundations of Social Work Practice : a graduate text - Mark A. Mattaini and Christine T. Lowery, eds.
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV40 .F683 2007

From Charity to Social Work : Mary E. Richmond and the creation of an American profession - Elizabeth N. Agnew
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV40.32.R55 A36 2004

From Morality to Mental Health : virtue and vice in a therapeutic culture - Mike W. Martin
Call Number: A&T STACKS RC458 .M265 2006

Future of the Welfare State : European and global perspectives - Bent Greve, ed.
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV238 .F88 2006

Health and Health Care Policy : a social work perspective - Cynthia Moniz and Stephen Gorin
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA394 .M665 2003

Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook : a guide for the helping professions - Brian N. Baird
Call Number: A&T STACKS BF637.C6 B26 2008

Mental Health, Social Mirror - William R. Avison, Jane D. McLeod, Bernice A. Pescosolido, eds.
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA790.5 .M473 2007

Research Methods for Social Workers - Bonnie L. Yegidis and Robert W. Weinbach
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV11 .Y43 2006

SAGE handbook of counselling and psychotherapy - Colin Feltham and Ian E. Horton, eds.
Call Number: A&T STACKS BF636.6 .S24 2006

Social Work in Schools : principles and practice - Linda Openshaw
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB3013.4 .O64 2008

Social Work Speaks : National Association of Social Workers policy statements, 2003-2006 - National Association of Social Workers
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV88 .N686 2003

Spirituality and the Black Helping Tradition in Social Work - Elmer P. Martin and Joanne M. Martin
Call Number: A&T BLK STUDIES HV3181 .M372 2002

Substance Abuse : information for school counselors, social workers, therapists, and counselors - Gary L. Fisher and Thomas C. Harrison
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV5825 .F566 2005

Techniques and Guidelines for Social Work Practice - Bradford W. Sheafor and Charles R. Horejsi
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV91 .S48 2006

Theories for Direct Social Work Practice - Joseph Walsh
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV43 .W35 2006

Working with Families of the Poor - Patricia Minuchin, Jorge Colapinto, and Salvador Minuchin
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV697 .M55 2007

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip