This is the "COLORISM" page of the "McNair Scholars 2012" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

McNair Scholars 2012   Tags: mcnairscholars  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/mcnair2012 Print Guide RSS Updates

COLORISM Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Searches

Colorism

Colorism (and) society (and) African Americans

Human skin color (and) social aspects (and) United States

Human skin color (and ) psychological aspects

African Americans (and) race identity

African Americans (and) skin color

Blacks (and) race identity

Cultural Fusion

Shadeism

Skin tone stratification

Homogamy

 

 

 

 

Databases

To find Articles check these Databases  

Articles are indexed by the electronic databases, which are accessible through the library’s homepage http://www.library.ncat.edu

  • Black Thought and Culture
    non-fiction writings by major American black leaders teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures covering 250 years of history. Also presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts.
  • Humanities International Complete
  • MasterFILE Premier
    Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,050 general reference publications.
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Opposing Viewpoints is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the pro and con arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.
  • PsycINFO
    Contains citations and abstracts to articles in journals, dissertations, and book chapters in all areas of psychology.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
 

Bluford Library Resources (Books and DVD)

Cover Art
Troubling Vision - Nicole R. Fleetwood
Call Number: A&T Stks: E185.625 .F544
ISBN: 0226253031
Publication Date: 2011
See essay:
* Her own spook : colorism, vision, and the dark female body


Cover Art
Don't Play in the Sun: One Woman's Journey Through the Color Complex - Marita Golden
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780385507868
Publication Date: 2004-04-20

Cover Art
Race, Gender, and the Politics of Skin Tone - Margaret L. Hunter
Call Number: A&T Blk Studies: E185.625 .H865 2005
ISBN: 0415946085
Publication Date: 2005-06-23
See Table of Contents

One Drop [DVD]
Call Number: A&T LRC: E185.625 O54 2001
This film explores the recurring and divisive issue in African American communities of skin color.

See Website: http://newsreel.org/video/ONE-DROP-RULE

Subject Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
E. Francene Moore
Contact Info
F.D. Bluford Library
efmoore@ncat.edu
336.285.4184
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip