This guide presents resources available for research in biological and biomedical engineering.
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017
These resources lead to research articles, standards, data, and other resources valuable in bioengineering research. From off-campus you may be prompted for your OneID and password.
- Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 scientific disciplines including biological, medical, physical, and other Annual Reviews Journals.
- ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials ) International Standards
Provides access to all ASTM testing and materials standards documents available.
- BioMed Central
An online journal publishing peer-reviewed research across all areas of biology and medicine.
BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
This database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering.
- Dissertation & Theses: Full Text
Database providing over one million full-text theses and dissertations. NC A&T theses/dissertations are not yet available through this database, but many other universities' dissertations are.
- Ei Engineering Village
Provides access to key engineering abstract collections (Compendex and Inspec) since 1890. This is one of the most comprehensive listings of engineering publications in the world.
- National Technical Information Service Database
Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.
PubMed is the most widely used source for finding research articles in the biomedical sciences.
Remember: when you are off-campus PubMed will not be able to deliver A&T subscription-only sources! Be sure to check with the library to get access from home.
Extensive full-text database of engineering, biomedical, and other science journals. This is a great place to start your research!
Source for online journals and books in all disciplines. SpringerLink includes the full text of high-quality research in bioengineering and other engineering and bioscience fields.
- Technology Research Database
This database is the total technology research solution, indexing world literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering. It incorporates Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace and all of their subfiles.
- Web of Science
Web of Science includes abstracts from a wide variety of science and engineering journals, and helps you link connected research together. This is an excellent database for tracing publication citations and finding high-influence articles.