This is the "GULLAH ISLANDS/NEW ORLEANS" page of the "McNair Scholars 2011" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

McNair Scholars 2011  

Research Support fo NCA&T 2011 McNair Scholars
Last Updated: Sep 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/content.php?pid=213948 Print Guide RSS Updates

GULLAH ISLANDS/NEW ORLEANS Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Africanisms in American culture
Call Number: A&T Stks E185 .A26 2005
ISBN: 025332839X


Cover Art
Gullah culture in America
Call Number: A&T Stks E185.93.S7 C76 2008
ISBN: 0275994503

Cover Art
The free people of color of New Orleans : an introduction
Call Number: A&T Stks F379.N59 N44 1994
ISBN: 0961637722

Cover Art
The Gullah people and their African heritage
Call Number: A&T Stks E185.93.S7 P65 1999
ISBN: 0820320544
Copy 2 available in Black Studies Section

Cover Art
The legacy of Ibo landing: Gullah roots of African American culture
Call Number: A&T Black Studies: E185.93.S7 .L43 1998
ISBN: 0932863256

Cover Art
Black New Orleans, 1860-1880
Call Number: Blk Studies F379.N59 B42
ISBN: 0226057070

Databases to Find Articles

To find Articles check the Databases  

Articles are indexed by the electronic databases which, are accessible through the library’s homepage http://www.library.ncat.com

  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary, full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • InfoTrac OneFile
    Index to general periodicals and scholarly journals. Millions of full-text articles.
  • MasterFILE Premier
    Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,050 general reference publications.
  • Black Studies Center
    Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles and videos on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Index of the humanities literature, including archaeology, art, classical studies, folklore, history, journalism, language and literature, linguistics, performing arts, political criticism, philosophy, and religion.

Subjects List

Here are some Subject Suggestions:

South Carolina - life and customs

South Carolina - Gullahs

Gullahs History

Gullahs Social Life and customs

Sea Islands - Creole dialect

New Orleans (La.) - Social Life and customs

New Orleans (La.) - Race relations - History

Southern States - Social Life and customs

African Americans - New Orleans

African American Women - South Carolina

African Americans - Louisiana - New Orleans

Women Slaves - Southern states - Social Conditions 

 

Subject Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
E. Francene Moore
Contact Info
F.D. Bluford Library
efmoore@ncat.edu
336.285.4184
Send Email

Website of Interest

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip