This is the "Ethnic disparities in the USA" page of the "Health Disparities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Disparities  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/healthdisparities Print Guide RSS Updates

Ethnic disparities in the USA Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Search: Oxford African American Studies Center

 

Search Oxford AASC

Websites

Black Studies Databases

These databases are selected for having a focus on African American studies. Use them to find journal articles and  other research materials on African American issues of all kinds..

  • Black Studies Center
    This portal is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. This portal links to several other databases in this list.
  • Black Thought and Culture
    Contains essays and other works of non-fiction written by leading African Americans, Africans, and authors throughout the African Diaspora.
  • Black Women Writers
    Contains approximately 100,000 pages of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by black women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Full text of minority newspapers in the United States.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
    Full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies journals, plus citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals.
  • JSTOR
    Although JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database, it has large subsections on African Studies, African American Studies, and Anthropology.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Over 7500 articles on the African American experience from Oxford's authoritative reference program — with primary source documents, images, maps, chart and tables, and much more.
 

Books to Check Out

"It just ain't fair" : the ethics of health care for African Americans
Call Number: A&T BLK STUDIES RA448.5.N4 I8 1994

African American health disparities : obesity, stress, & your health
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA448.5.N4 J45 2003

African Americans' health care practices, perspectives, and needs
Call Number: A&T BLK STUDIES RA448.5.N4 Q83 2005
See Ch. 2 "Health care disparities in the United States: a special problem for African-Americans"

African-American social workers and social policy
Call Number: A&T STACKS HV3181 .A374 2003
See especially Ch. 7 "African-American women and health disparities: implications of race, class, and gender"

Dr. Gavin's health guide for African Americans
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA778.4.A36 G38 2004

Eliminating healthcare disparities in America: beyond the IOM report
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA563.M56 E45 2007

Free at last? : Black America in the twenty-first century
Call Number: A&T BLK STUDIES E185.86 .F745 2006
See Ch. 5 "Clear and present dangers: health disparities in the African American community"

Health disparities in the United States : social class, race, ethnicity, and health
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA418.3.U6 B37 2008

Health issues in the Black community
Call Number: A&T BLK STUDIES RA448.5.N4 H395 2001

Minority health and disparities-related issues. Part 1
Call Number: A&T GSM SERIALS RC60 .M4 v.89 no.4

Minority health and disparities-related issues. Part II
Call Number: A&T GSM SERIALS RC60 .M4 2005 v.89 no.5

Multicultural health
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA418.5.T73 R58 2010

Multicultural medicine and health disparities
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA418.5.T73 M855 2006

Race, ethnicity, and health : a public health reader
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA563.M56 R325 2002

Social and behavioral foundations of public health
Call Number: A&T STACKS RA418 .C673 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip