Government Documents Database
This is the "Featured Databases" page of the "Computer Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Science   Tags: computer, computer science, engineering, research  

Last Updated: Sep 2, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/compsci Print Guide RSS Updates

Featured Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Featured Research Databases for Computer Science

Use these selected databases, providers and vendors to access journal articles, standards, technical reports, and other Industrial & Systems Engineering information .

Multidisciplinary databses are listed on the far right - don't forget about them!

Most databases have links for:

  • downloading, e-mailing and printing citations and for the full-text articles
  • APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian citation styles
  • Alerting Services 
  • exporting to bibliographic management software. 
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
    This database includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics available in more than 2,000 publications, with over 1,800 in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals and many others.
  • ACM Digital Library
    This source provides tables of contents, abstracts for selected articles, reviews, and over 31,000 full-text articles from ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings since 1985. While full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for every proceedings article published before 1991. The contents may be searched by keyword, author and limited by year of publication and publication title. Most articles are available in PDF -- some are also available in other formats including HTML, postscript, and LaTeX.
  • Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace
    The most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences. From theoretical research through to practical applications. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Advanced Technologies supplements the database with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, satellite images, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. This resource used to be called CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace. View Resource Record
  • Business Source Complete
    Business database that indexes scholarly business journals and other sources, with full text for over 9,500 titles, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Also includes industry & market research reports from Datamonitor and country reports from CountryWatch and Business Monitor. Covers all areas of business, including accounting & tax; banking, finance & insurance; computer science & MIS; economics; human resources; management; marketing; operations management; public administration; and journals useful to other disciplines like area studies, sociology, and the sciences.
  • Compendex
    Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings, some dating back to 1884.
  • Computer and Information Systems Abstracts
    This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on computers and software, including software engineering, artificial intelligence, mathematical modeling and computer simulation, Internet applications, e-commerce, multimedia information systems, user interfaces and information systems in such applications as library science, health care and engineering. Part of Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace and Technology Research Database.
  • Engineering Research Database [ProQuest]
    This resource was formerly called CSA Engineering Research Database. Bibliographic coverage of the international serial and non-serial literature for research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, transportation engineering, forensic engineering, engineering services, education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, mathematics/computation, design, construction, and latest technological developments.
  • Engineering Village
    THE most powerful engineering database, offering combined searching of Compendex, Inspec and NTIS, including the ability to dedupe Compendex and Inspec records.

    Also provides access to their powerful "Thesaurus" for identifying terms, synonyms and related terms.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
    Checkout the "Featured Topics" section.
  • IEEE Xplore - IEEE/IET Electronic Library
    IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
  • Inspec
    Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts (1896-present) from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics,
  • MathSciNet
    Evaluative reviews and abstracts of the international research literature in mathematics, computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applications in areas such as physics, engineering, biology, and information systems.
  • National Technical Information Service Database
    Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
  • ProQuest Computing
    This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's.
  • Springer LINK
    Access to journals and ebooks from Springer/Verlag and Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics.
  • Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
    SYNTHESIS is an innovative information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with advanced digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print and digital publications. SYNTHESIS contains 50-100 page books called lectures that synthesize important research or development topics, authored by prominent contributors to the field.
  • Technology Research Database
    This database is the total technology research solution, indexing world literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering. It incorporates Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace and all of their subfiles.
 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Or

  • Click on the letter that is the first letter of the name of your Database
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database
  • Finally, Click on the name of your Database.

Please note: For off-campus access, please sign in by using your username, and your password.

Your username is the one you use for Blackboard or Wi-Fi For example, if your email address is agoodstudent@aggies.ncat.edu: 

  • username: agoodstudent 
  • password: xxxxxxxx
  • (same password as for Blackboard or Wi-Fi)
 

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

  1. The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words (Synonyms).
  2. Fewer terms = more results.
  3. More search terms = fewer results. 
  4. Some Databases search two-word phrases always together, some do not.  You may need to add "quotes" around your phrases.
  5. Connect words/phrases with AND instead of putting in complete sentences.
  6. Computers are dumb - they do not understand grammar.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases include articles from every discipline. From art to zoology, teaching to technology, you can find a little bit on any topic by using these research tools.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Our most popular multidisciplinary journal database! Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Academic Search Complete offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics
  • Access World News Research Collection
    Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, controversial issues, criminal justice, economics, health, education, the environment, government, journalism, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, periodicals and web-only content including the Charlotte Observer (1985-Current) and Greensboro News & Record (1990-Current). Also includes Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
  • Biography Reference Center
    Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
  • Dissertations & Theses Global
    This database is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
    Since 2012, this database includes over 400 North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University Masters Theses and Ph.D. Dissertations.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand is an online collection of educational videos available for streaming. Subjects include anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business & economics, careers & job search, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, English & language arts, environmental science, family & consumer sciences, geography, guidance & counseling, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technical education, and world languages.
  • Google Scholar
    This link will allow off campus users to access full text of articles through Google Scholar.
  • JSTOR
    Historical and backfile articles from scholarly journals going back to the start of each journal. Although JSTOR does not include contemporary articles, it is a vast colelction of the best older articles in many disciplines.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    This flagship service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (from GALE)
    Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.
  • ProQuest Central
    ProQuest Central provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals. It also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as over 70,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more; over 90,000 working papers from providers such as SSRN; and thousands of up-to-date market and industry reports, and country profiles.
  • SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, data sets, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
  • ScienceDirect
    Contrary to the name, Science Direct covers science, social sciences, and humanities, with many of the best-known scholarly journals in numerous disciplines.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
  • Web of Science
    Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • WorldCat
    Search for books held in libraries throughout North Carolina and theworld. This database is useful for locating items in other libraries or for verifying book titles and publication information for citations.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip