This is the "Biographies, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries" page of the "Music and Music Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music and Music Education   Tags: education, high_school, music, pedagogy, teachers  

This guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist students in locating materials for Music and Music Education.
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/Music Print Guide RSS Updates

Biographies, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background Research Information

Biographies, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries are very useful resources to use in gathering background information. Resources listed on this page will help you to develop and explore your research topic more in depth.

 

Quick Reference Resources available through Oxford Reference Online

Seven music related items are currently available through Oxford Reference Online.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Music - Alison Latham (Editor)
Call Number: revised, online edition
ISBN: 0199579032
Publication Date: 2011
An Oxford Reference Online eBook

This new online-only edition of The Oxford Companion to Music is a partial revision that focuses on living composers and their music. This classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject. All varieties of musical forms are covered, including jazz, popular music, and dance.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical - Thomas Hischak
ISBN: 9780195335330
Publication Date: 2009
An Oxford Reference Online eBook

‘Amazingly comprehensive and thoroughly researched, The Oxford Companion to the American Musical is a must for any theatre professional or theatre fan.’ Stephen Flaherty

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Music - Tim Rutherford-Johnson; Michael Kennedy; Joyce Kennedy
ISBN: 9780199578542
Publication Date: 2013-09-15
An Oxford Reference Online eBook

For the sixth edition of this classic dictionary, the text has been thoroughly revised and updated.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music is the most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of musical terms available and an essential point of reference for music students, teachers, lecturers, professional musicians, as well as music enthusiasts.

Cover Art
Who Married Figaro?: A Dictionary of Opera Characters (2nd ed.) - Joyce Bourne
ISBN: 9780199548194
Publication Date: 2009-07-26
A unique and authoritative A-Z reference work that will answer all your questions on who's who in opera. Contains over 2,500 lively entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance - Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
ISBN: 9780199563449
Publication Date: 2010-09-10
The second edition of this dictionary is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.

Cover Art
The Grove Book of Opera Singers - Laura Macy (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195337655
Publication Date: 2008-10-02
Covering over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day, this marvellous volume will be an essential resource for all serious opera lovers and an indispensable companion to the enormously successful Grove Book of Operas (also in Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection).

Cover Art
The Grove Book of Operas - Stanley Sadie (Editor); David Levin (Contribution by); Laura Macy (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195309072
Publication Date: 2006-11-06
First published in 1996 to great critical and popular acclaim, the Grove Book of Operas, is a collection of synopses and descriptions of over 250 operas. Each succinct yet insightful entry is written by a leading authority on the opera and includes a full synopsis of the plot, a cast list, a note on the singers in the original production, and information on the origins of the work and its literary and social background.

Databases

  • African American Music Reference
    African American Music Reference chronicles the history of African American music: blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights and slave songs, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other musical expressions. The resource also includes discographies and bibliographies along with songsheets, images, and other print resources.
  • Biography Reference Center
    Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
  • Credo Reference
    A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas. The link will take you to entries related to music.
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica
    A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Literary Reference Center
    Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes more than 35,000 plot summaries, 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, and access to over 660 literary journals.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
  • Oxford English Dictionary Online
    Contains the complete text of the OED's 20-volume Second Edition and 3-volume Additions Series. Also includes draft material from the current OED project, representing the latest progress towards a completely revised and updated Third Edition. The OED online can be used to perform simple searches for word definitions, or for full-text searching of all OED's definitions, etymologies and quotations through the Search function. Updated quarterly.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Reference library that includes subject dictionaries, the World Encyclopedia, English dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian, and entries from Oxford Companions and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip