Last Updated: Sep 9, 2016
Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.
To find these databases from the Library Home Page:
- Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
- Click Browse Databases by Title
- Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.
Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.
When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:
- The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words.
- More search terms = fewer results.
- Fewer terms = more results.
- Connect words with AND instead of putting in complete sentences. Computers do not understand grammar.
- CQ Electronic Library
Provides 7 sub-files containing high quality research information in the areas of American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
- Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
A collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organization management from a variety of sources including federal, state, and local government agencies. Note: Currently restricted to on-campus use only
JSTOR is an archiving database that archives the full text of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including political science and public administration studies. JSTOR articles are usually historical not current.
- Military & Government Collection
Offers full-text journals on current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- Access World News
Provides comprehensive coverage of national and international news, including hundreds of global newspapers from every region of the world.
- United Nations Treaty Collection
Collects international treaties, including information on their signatories and statuses.
- World Bank eLibrary
Online access to World Bank books and working papers relating to development, economics, and policy. They are divided into 6 collections: African, Ease Asian, Eastern Europe & Central Asian, Latin American, Middle East - North African, and South Asian collections.
- ABI/Inform Global
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 1,700 scholarly journals focusing on business but covering a wide variety of other social science subject areas from 1971 to present.
- Academic Search Complete
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 8,200 scholarly journals covering every subject area. Includes many complete articles from over 4,600 journals.
- Access World News
Full-text content of local and regional newspapers. Each newspaper has its own distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.
- CQ Electronic Library
Provides seven subfiles containing high quality research information in the areas of American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Indexes major minority newspapers throughout the country from 1960-present
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. It couples the convenience of the Internet with the power of LEXIS-NEXIS® services so you can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific research need
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Provides access to over 30,000 electronic books, including over 200 books on terrorism issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on current events and social and political issues
The largest database of article summaries on psychology and behavior, with links to some full-text articles.
- Sage Full-Text Collections
Access to many scholarly research journals in political science, sociology, and criminology as well as other social sciences
- Science Direct
This full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide of subject areas and disciplines
Use WorldCat to determine if another library owns desired research materials.