Last Updated: Aug 26, 2016
Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.
To find these databases from the Library Home Page:
- Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
- Click Browse Databases by Title
- Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.
Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.
These databases focus on communication and mass media. Some are for researching new trends in communication techniques, others are for following news and other media, which can be essential in researching trends in communication styles for marketing. Use these databases to research both what's in the media and what comunications professionals are saying about communications and the media.
- America's Newspapers (NewsBank)
Full-text archives of many local and national newspapers, including many papers from North Carolina.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Search journals and trade magazines in the fields of communications, media studies, journalism, and related professions.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from ethnic and minority papers throughout the US.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Lexis-Nexis Academic is a source for a variety of types of information from current events to business information to legal findings. The Nexis component is one of the most well-established and definitive news and current events databases. Find newswires, local national and world newspapers, transcripts of news programs, and far more searching the News section of LexisNexis.
- News & Record (Greensboro)
Access the Greensboro News & Record archives through the Newsbank (America's Newspapers) interface.
- Newspaper Source
Searches a small collection of national and international newspapers.
These resources are used to search for business articles in business journals, business magazines, trade publications, economic working papers, company reports, and business news.
- ABI/Inform Dateline
ABI Dateline focuses on papers local to specific states or regions. Use this database for local business news.
- ABI/Inform Global
ABI Global is the main ABI resource, and includes major U.S. and international business publications.
- ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
ABI Trade and Industry includes specialty publications in specific industries. Industry publications range from logistics to retailing to banking to training. All materials in this database are specialty publications.
- Business Source Complete
This EBSCO database includes comprehensive coverage of current and historical articles in business research journals, magazines, and news. Company research, industry reports, and other value-added material is also included.
- CCH Internet Tax Research
CCH is a comprehensive source for state and national tax law as well as auditing regulations. You must sign up for an account on campus to use CCH.
- EconLit with Full Text
Access full-text of American Economic Association journals, along with comprehensive indexing of economics research and news.
- Emerald Full-Text
Full-text on topics of business, information technology, engineering, industrial studies, and more.
- Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies
Includes analyses and custom-developed reports, studies, data, and strategic analyses on technology information.
Although JSTOR includes many non-business topics, it is one of the most comprehensive sources for historical information in economics, business, and organizational behavior.
- LexisNexis Academic - business module
Choose BUSINESS at the top for business news, major industry magazines, and company data & financial filings.
- NBER Working Papers
Access the working papers of the National Bureau of Economic Research
- World Bank e-library
Books, working papers, reports, and data from the World Bank.