Electronic Guide to Genealogy Resources
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2017
- Accessible Archives
- African American Biographical Database
The largest electronic collection of biographical information on African Americans from 1790-1950. Biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not found in other reference sources, are assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Includes extended narratives of African American activists, former slaves, performing artists, educators, writers, and more. Pages are downloadable for personal study
- American Slavery : A Composite Autobiography
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews.
- Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
- Heritage Quest
Heritage Quest includes family histories, genealogical serials, local histories, directories, slave records, and many more primary sources for genealogical research.
- NC Live
NC Live includes a number of genealogy resources which include access to North Carolina newspapers through Newspapers.com, Archives Grid (a tool for finding archival collections) and Heritage Quest a product of Ancestry.com for finding census records and other important documentation.
- New York Times Historical Newspapers : 1851 - 2007
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
Back issues of the historical African American newspaper will provide genealogists with many accounts of news, family life, entertainment, politics, sports, culture and more across the 20th century.
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (North Carolina)