This guide contains a webliography of resources to assist with historical research.
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016
These resources are starting points for your research, places to lead to more specific sources.
- Learn NC: Sit-In Article
North Carolina Digital History section on civil rights, 1960-1965.
- NC History Project: Sit-In
Another article on the Greensboro Sit-In, with sources listed.
- LoC Civil Rights: School Segregation and Integration
An overview of desegregation efforts in the south, another excellent starting point.
- UNCG: Civil Rights Greensboro
Excellent gateway to local Civil Rights history materials.
- NYT: Sit-In Article
Contemporary national coverage, look here for some leads.
- PBS: History Detectives "Lunch Counter Closed"
Access to a video interview with sit-in participants in Winston-Salem and Greensboro.
- NPS: Desegregation (PDF)
National Park Service, National Historic Places Program. A PDF overview of Civil Rights history, with citations and sources provided.
- The Integration Report (PDF)
More up-to-date information on school desegregation.
- Southern Oral History Project (UNC)
Searches many oral history interviews by interviewee, subject, interviewer, subject, and more.
- Interview Advice, Practical and Technical
Shortcuts for the Student Writer
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-12-06
Gives tips on Writing a Research Paper and Citations. Check out "Part 3: The Research Paper".
When off-campus, these links will require your university username/password.
Ex.: Your email address is firstname.lastname@example.org
- Access World News
N.C. newspapers (most 1990+), including the News & Record, Winston-Salem Journal, Charlotte Observer, and News & Observer.
- Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles and videos on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Access to historical Chicago Defender newspaper articles from 1912-1975.
- Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Titles from 1990 to present, some from 1959 to current.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
Search the archives of the Chicago Defender, 1909-1975.
- Academic Search Complete
Good general academic resource. Searches newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more.
Archive of many academic and scholarly journals.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Endnote X6 is a citation manager that helps make the citation process easier. It organizes your citations and inserts them into your word document at a click of a button. Get your free copy at the reference desk. Ask for a one-on-one session with a librarian to learn how to use it.
Clicking the image will take you to an online tutorial.
The video called "How to use Endnote in 7 minutes" will be very useful.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
A quick guide to citations including Chicago/Turabian style. Click the link above to read.