This is the "Home" page of the "CST 703 - Technical Research Writing & Communication Skills" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CST 703 - Technical Research Writing & Communication Skills   Tags: computer systems and technology, graduate students, information technology  

Resources for advanced technical writing at the graduate level.
Last Updated: Feb 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/CST703 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

The 75-20-5 Rule

An article from venture capitalist and former technology journalist M.G. Siegler about the credibility of most news sources about technology topics. The short version: 75% of what you read in today's press is only marginally accurate, 20% is outright wrong, and only 5% actually are usefully accurate. He also discusses why it is that these inaccuracies go uncorrected.

Databases with Excellent Technical/IT Content

  • ACM Digital Library
    This source provides tables of contents, abstracts for selected articles, reviews, and over 31,000 full-text articles from ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings since 1985.
  • IEEE Xplore
    IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Reference library that includes subject dictionaries, the World Encyclopedia, and more. Extremely helpful to find and define profession-specific jargon.
  • Web of Science
    Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip